Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society

London, UK - November 11, 2019

Call for Papers

The Information Revolution has thoroughly transformed society. One of the major implications of this technological shift has been a massive increase in the collection, sharing, and analysis of personal data. The goal of this workshop is to discuss the privacy problems that result as well as their solutions. This will be the 17th occurrence of this annual forum, which is held in conjunction with the ACM CCS conference.

The workshop seeks submissions from academia, government, and industry presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of electronic privacy, as well as experimental studies of fielded systems. We encourage submissions from other communities such as law and business that present these communities' perspectives on technological issues. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

Paper Submissions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Regular submissions should be at most 12 pages in the ACM double-column format (specifically, the sigconf format) excluding bibliography and well-marked appendices. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions should be anonymized. The workshop will also consider short submissions of up to 4 pages (excluding bibliography) for results that are preliminary or that simply require few pages to describe. Authors of regular submitted papers will indicate at the time of submission whether they would like their paper to also be considered for publication as a short paper (4 pages).

Submissions are to be made on EasyChair. You will be requested to upload the file of your paper (in PDF format only). Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of July 8, 2019 to be considered. Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by August 22, 2019. The camera ready must be prepared by August 30, 2019. Proceedings of the workshop will be published by ACM on a CD, available to the workshop attendees. Papers will be included in the ACM Digital Library, with a specific ISBN. Each accepted paper must be presented by an author, who will have to be registered by the early-bird registration deadline.

Important Dates

Paper Submission due:
July 8, 2019 (11:59 PM Anywhere on Earth (UTC-12))
Notification to authors:
August 22, 2019
Camera ready due:
August 30, 2019


Program Chair

Josep Domingo-Ferrer
Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Catalonia

Publicity Chair

JoaquĆ­n Garcia-Alfaro
Télécom SudParis, France

Program Committee

Carlo Blundo
Università degli Studi di Salerno, Italy
Anne-Sophie Charest
Laval University, Canada
Chris Clifton
Purdue University, USA
Mauro Conti
University of Padua, Italy
Graham Cormode
University of Warwick, UK
Frederic Cuppens
TELECOM Bretagne, France
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Roberto Di Pietro
Hamad Bin Khalifa University, Qatar
Josep Lluis Ferrer-Gomila
Universitat de les Illes Balears, Spain
Sara Foresti
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sébastien Gambs
Université du Québec à Montréal, Québec, Canada
Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro
Telecom SudParis, France
Simon Garfinkel
U.S. Census Bureau
Dieter Gollmann
Hamburg University of Technology, Germany
Aaron Johnson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Marc Juarez
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium
Murat Kantarcioglu
University of Texas at Dallas, USA
Sokratis Katsikas
Center for Cyber and Information Security, NTNU, Norway
Stefan Katzenbeisser
TU Darmstadt, Germany
Florian Kerschbaum
SAP, Germany
Hiroaki Kikuchi
Meiji University, Japan
Peeter Laud
Cybernetica AS, Estonia
Adam J. Lee
University of Pittsburgh, USA
Giovanni Livraga
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Javier Lopez
University of Malaga, Spain
Sjouke Mauw
University of Luxembourg
David Megias
Universitat Oberta de Catalunya, Catalonia
Anna Oganian
U.S. National Center for Health Statistics, USA
Melek Onen
Stefano Paraboschi
Università degli Studi di Bergamo, Italy
Constantinos Patsakis
University of Piraeus, Greece
Carla Ràfols
Universitat Pompeu Fabra, Catalonia
Pierangela Samarati
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
David Sánchez
Universitat Rovira i Virgili, Catalonia
Francesc Sebé
Universitat de Lleida, Catalonia
Jordi Soria-Comas
Catalan Data Protection Authority, Catalonia
Tamir Tassa
The Open University of Israel
Vicenç Torra
National University of Ireland-Maynooth, Ireland
Carmela Troncoso
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
Rolando Trujillo
Deakin University, Australia
Cong Wang
City University of Hong Kong
Qianhong Wu
Beihang University, China
Meng Yu
Virginia Commonwealth University, USA
Lei Zhang
East China Normal University

Steering Committee

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sushil Jajodia
George Mason University, USA
Pierangela Samarati (Chair)
Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Paul Syverson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA