Aims and goals

The main goal of this special session on Computational Intelligence for Privacy Protection is to gather high-quality articles in which techniques based on computational intelligence (i.e. evolutionary algorithms, neural networks, machine learning, fuzzy systems, etc.) are used to protect the privacy of the users of information and communication technologies.

Topics include but are not limited to Computational Intelligence for Privacy and Security in:

  • Location Data Privacy (Location Based Services)
  • Privacy in Statistical Databases (Statistical Disclosure Control)
  • Digital Forensics and privacy
  • Privacy in the Cloud
  • Privacy against Internet Search Engines
  • Privacy in Radio Frequency Identification (RFID)-based systems
  • Privacy for Medical Records(Electronic Healthcare Records HER - Privacy)



  • Dr. Agusti Solanas, Rovira i Virgili University (Spain)


  • Dr. Antoni Martinez-Ballesté, Rovira i Virgili University (Spain)
  • Dr. David Elizondo, De Montfort University (UK)

Program committee

  • Dr. Pascal Bouvry, University of Luxembourg
  • Prof. Angelo Cangelosi, University of Plymouth
  • Dr. Francisco Chiclana, DeMonfort University
  • Prof. Sylvain Contassot, LORIA
  • Prof. Josep Domingo-Ferrer, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Dr. David Elizondo, DeMonfort University
  • Dr. Oscar Esparza, Technical University of Catalonia
  • Dr. Leonardo Franco, University of Malaga
  • Dr. José García, Universidad de Alicante
  • Dr. Paolo Gastaldo, University of Genoa
  • Dr. Karina Gibert, Technical University of Catalonia
  • Dr. Mario Gongora, DeMonfort University
  • Dr. Jordi Herrera-Joancomartí, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona
  • Dr. Andreas Huemer, DeMonfort University
  • Dr. José Jerez, University of Malaga
  • Dr. Bing Lu, Neurec Inc.
  • Dr. Antoni Martínez-Ballesté, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Dr. Josep M. Mateo-Sanz, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Dr. David Megías, Universitat Oberta de Catalunya
  • Dr. Macià Mut, Universitat de les Illes Balears
  • Dr. M. Magdalena Payeras, Universitat de les Illes Balears
  • Dr. Juan Miguel Ortiz, University of Malaga
  • Dr. Carlos Pena, HEIG-­VD
  • Dr. Andres Perez, HEIG-­VD
  • Dr. Domènec Puig, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Dr. Michel Piliougine, University of Malaga
  • Dr. Sergio Saponara, University of Pisa
  • Dr. Matthias Schmid, Friedrich-Alexander-University
  • Dr. Agusti Solanas, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Prof. Vicenç Torra, CSIC
  • Dr. Antonio Urbano Fullana, Universitat de les Illes Balears
  • Prof. Tim Watson, DeMonfort University
  • Dr. Qianhong Wu, Universitat Rovira i Virgili
  • Dr. Zhenke Yang, Technical University Delft
  • ...

Submission Guidelines

Instructions about styles and paper submission can be found here.



Thanks to support from the UNESCO Chair in Data Privacy, we are able to offer grants to offset some of the costs associated with attending the CIPP2012 for participants coming from "transition" countries", which are nations other than the USA, Canada, Western Europe, New Zealand, Australia, Japan and South Korea.

The grants will be provided according to this priority order:

  1. student author of an accepted paper;
  2. author of an accepted paper;
  3. student author of a submitted but rejected paper;
  4. author of a submitted but rejected paper;
  5. attendee without a paper.

Interested participants please send a mail with your vitae to agusti.solanas

Important Dates

December 19, 2011
January 18th, 2012
Paper Submission February 20, 2012 Paper acceptance notification April 2, 2012 Final paper submission April 2, 2012 Early registration June 10 - 15, 2012 Conference Dates


The UNESCO Chair in Data Privacy will provide a number of travel grants